Very Important History Was Made At The Oscars Last Night

Very Important History Was Made At The Oscars Last Night

The Academy Awards are the most prestigious event in Hollywood's calendar. They are the locus of interest around the film industry;the gathering that unfailingly draws the eyes of the general public each year. For the red carpet style and for our favourite films and actors to be recognised for the amazing work they have done. However, it's not all just glitz and glam. In recent years The Academy have been heavily criticised for diversity, or lack of diversity I should say, among their nominees. But this year, history has been made. It may be small, but it is a step in the right direction.

Rachel Morrison being nominated for the best cinematography category for her work on 'Mudbound' is the first time ever a woman has been nominated for that category. Mary J Blige is the first person to ever be nominated for an acting performance and an original song in a single year for her work on 'Mudbound' also. Jordan Peele is the first ever black filmmaker to take home the award for best original screenplay. Timothée Chalamet (22) has been the youngest nominee (since 1939) for best actor for his work on 'Call Me By Your Name' and Christopher Plummer (88) has become the oldest nominee for best supporting actor for his role in 'All The Money In The World'. This is only a taster of the history that has been made at the 90th Academy Awards.

The full list of nominees and winners are below.

Best Picture

WINNER: “The Shape of Water”

“Call Me by Your Name”

“Darkest Hour”



“Get Out”

“Lady Bird”

“Phantom Thread”

“The Post”

“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”


Best Actress

Winner: Frances McDormand, “ Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

Sally Hawkins, “The Shape of Water”

Margot Robbie, “I, Tonya”

Saoirse Ronan, “Lady Bird”

Meryl Streep, “The Post”


Best Actor

WINNER: Gary Oldman, “Darkest Hour”

Timothée Chalamet, “Call Me by Your Name”

Daniel Day-Lewis, “Phantom Thread”

Daniel Kaluuya, “Get Out”

Denzel Washington, “Roman J. Israel, Esq.”


Best Director

WINNER: “The Shape of Water,” Guillermo del Toro

“Dunkirk,” Christopher Nolan

“Get Out,” Jordan Peele

“Lady Bird,” Greta Gerwig

“Phantom Thread,” Paul Thomas Anderson


Original Screenplay

WINNER: “Get Out,” Jordan Peele

“The Big Sick,” Emily V. Gordon & Kumail Nanjiani

“Lady Bird,” Greta Gerwig

“The Shape of Water,” Guillermo del Toro, Vanessa Taylor

“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri,” Martin McDonagh


Adapted Screenplay

WINNER: “Call Me by Your Name,” James Ivory

“The Disaster Artist,” Scott Neustadter & Michael H. Weber

“Logan,” Scott Frank & James Mangold and Michael Green

“Molly’s Game,” Aaron Sorkin

“Mudbound,” Virgil Williams and Dee Rees


Best Supporting Actress

WINNER: Allison Janney, “I, Tonya”

Mary J. Blige, “Mudbound”

Lesley Manville, “Phantom Thread”

Laurie Metcalf, “Lady Bird”

Octavia Spencer, “The Shape of Water”


Best Supporting Actor

WINNER: Sam Rockwell, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

Willem Dafoe, “The Florida Project”

Woody Harrelson, “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri”

Richard Jenkins, “The Shape of Water”

Christopher Plummer, “All the Money in the World”


Original Score

WINNER: “Dunkirk,” Hans Zimmer

“Phantom Thread,” Jonny Greenwood

“The Shape of Water,” Alexandre Desplat

“Star Wars: The Last Jedi,” John Williams

“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri,” Carter Burwell


Original Song

WINNER:  Remember Me” from “Coco,” Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Robert Lopez

“Mighty River” from “Mudbound,” Mary J. Blige

“Mystery of Love” from “Call Me by Your Name,” Sufjan Stevens

“Stand Up for Something” from “Marshall,” Diane Warren, Common

“This Is Me” from “The Greatest Showman,” Benj Pasek, Justin Paul



WINNER: “Blade Runner 2049,” Roger Deakins

“Darkest Hour,” Bruno Delbonnel

“Dunkirk,” Hoyte van Hoytema

“Mudbound,” Rachel Morrison

“The Shape of Water,” Dan Laustsen


Best Live Action Short Film

WINNER: “The Silent Child,” Chris Overton, Rachel Shenton

“DeKalb Elementary,” Reed Van Dyk

“The Eleven O’Clock,” Derin Seale, Josh Lawson

“My Nephew Emmett,” Kevin Wilson, Jr.

“Watu Wote/All of Us,” Katja Benrath, Tobias Rosen


Best Documentary Short Subject

WINNER: “Heaven is a Traffic Jam on the 405,” Frank Stiefel

“Edith+Eddie,” Laura Checkoway, Thomas Lee Wright

“Heroin(e),” Elaine McMillion Sheldon, Kerrin Sheldon

“Knife Skills,” Thomas Lennon

“Traffic Stop,” Kate Davis, David Heilbroner


Film Editing

WINNER: “Dunkirk,” Lee Smith

“Baby Driver,” Jonathan Amos, Paul Machliss

“I, Tonya,” Tatiana S. Riegel

“The Shape of Water,” Sidney Wolinsky

“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri,” Jon Gregory


Visual Effects

WINNER: “Blade Runner 2049,” John Nelson, Paul Lambert, Richard R. Hoover, Gerd Nefzer

“Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2,” Christopher Townsend, Guy Williams, Jonathan Fawkner, Dan Sudick

“Kong: Skull Island,” Stephen Rosenbaum, Jeff White, Scott Benza, Mike Meinardus

“Star Wars: The Last Jedi,” Ben Morris, Mike Mulholland, Chris Corbould, Neal Scanlan

“War for the Planet of the Apes,” Joe Letteri, Dan Lemmon, Daniel Barrett, Joel Whist


Animated Feature

WINNER: “Coco,” Lee Unkrich, Darla K. Anderson

“The Boss Baby,” Tom McGrath, Ramsey Ann Naito

“The Breadwinner,” Nora Twomey, Anthony Leo

“Ferdinand,” Carlos Saldanha

“Loving Vincent,” Dorota Kobiela, Hugh Welchman, Sean Bobbitt, Ivan Mactaggart, Hugh Welchman


Animated Short

WINNER: “Dear Basketball,” Glen Keane, Kobe Bryant

“Garden Party,” Victor Caire, Gabriel Grapperon

“Lou,” Dave Mullins, Dana Murray

“Negative Space,” Max Porter, Ru Kuwahata

“Revolting Rhymes,” Jakob Schuh, Jan Lachauer


Best Foreign Language Film

WINNER: “A Fantastic Woman” (Chile)

“The Insult” (Lebanon)

“Loveless” (Russia)

“On Body and Soul (Hungary)

“The Square” (Sweden)


Production Design

WINNER: “The Shape of Water,” Paul D. Austerberry, Jeffrey A. Melvin, Shane Vieau

“Beauty and the Beast,” Sarah Greenwood; Katie Spencer

“Blade Runner 2049,” Dennis Gassner, Alessandra Querzola

“Darkest Hour,” Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer

“Dunkirk,” Nathan Crowley, Gary Fettis


Best Documentary Feature

WINNER: “Icarus,” Bryan Fogel, Dan Cogan

“Abacus: Small Enough to Jail,” Steve James, Mark Mitten, Julie Goldman

“Faces Places,” JR, Agnès Varda, Rosalie Varda

“Last Men in Aleppo,” Feras Fayyad, Kareem Abeed, Soren Steen Jepersen

“Strong Island,” Yance Ford, Joslyn Barnes


Sound Mixing

WINNER: “Dunkirk,” Mark Weingarten, Gregg Landaker, Gary A. Rizzo

“Baby Driver,” Mary H. Ellis, Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin

“Blade Runner 2049,” Mac Ruth, Ron Bartlett, Doug Hephill

“The Shape of Water,” Glen Gauthier, Christian Cooke, Brad Zoern

“Star Wars: The Last Jedi,” Stuart Wilson, Ren Klyce, David Parker, Michael Semanick


Sound Editing

WINNER: Dunkirk,” Alex Gibson, Richard King

“Baby Driver,” Julian Slater

“Blade Runner 2049,” Mark Mangini, Theo Green

“The Shape of Water,” Nathan Robitaille, Nelson Ferreira

“Star Wars: The Last Jedi,” Ren Klyce, Matthew Wood


Costume Design

WINNER: “Phanto m Thread,” Mark Bridges

“Beauty and the Beast,” Jacqueline Durran

“Darkest Hour,” Jacqueline Durran

“The Shape of Water,” Luis Sequeira

“Victoria and Abdul,” Consolata Boyle

Makeup and Hair

WINNER: “Darkest Hour,” Kazuhiro Tsuji, David Malinowski, Lucy Sibbick

“Victoria and Abdul,” Daniel Phillips and Lou Sheppard

“Wonder,” Arjen Tuiten

See Also: Saoirse Ronan's Story On Jimmy Kimmel Made Us Feel All Nostalgic

Mary Stafford

You may also like

Facebook messenger