Cricket World Cup 2015 Draw

Ireland will play world champions India at the 2015 Cricket World Cup after being drawn in Pool B this morning. Phil Simmon’s men, who qualified with a tie against the Netherlands earlier this month, have also been grouped with South Africa, Pakistan, West Indies and Zimbabwe with one more team still to qualify.

Hosted by Australia and New Zealand, who have been drawn in the same group, the tournament begins on February 14 with New Zealand facing Sri Lanka before England take on Australia. Ireland open their account two days later against the West Indies in Nelson. Out of Ireland’s six matches, two will take place in New Zealand with the other four in the Australian cities of Brisbane, Canberra, Hobart and Adelaide.

ICC chief executive David Richardson said: "The ICC Cricket World Cup is the flagship tournament of the 50-over game. The 2015 tournament will mark 40 years since the first World Cup in 1975 and that history of great contests and heroes helps make the tournament what it is - the most sought after prize in our increasingly global game.

"The World Cup will be returning to Australia and New Zealand after 23 years and will be staged at the back of two outstanding 50-over ICC events - the ICC Cricket World Cup 2011 and ICC Champions Trophy 2013. "I'm absolutely confident that the success of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 will further strengthen the status of 50-over cricket as a successful and viable format alongside Tests and Twenty20 Internationals."

Australia Prime Minister Kevin Rudd added: "This is one of the biggest events in world sport. "It will attract cricket fans from around the globe and also promote Australia and our close friend New Zealand internationally - especially in India and other parts of south Asia."

The 2015 Cricket World Cup will be jointly held by Australia and New Zealand from February 14 - March 29, 2015.


Group A

Group B

3     England 5     South Africa
2     Australia 1     India
4     Sri Lanka 6     Pakistan
9     Bangladesh 8     West Indies
7     New Zealand 10     Zimbabwe
12  Qualifier 2 11     Ireland
13  Qualifier 3 14  Qualifier 4


Ireland’s 2015 Cricket World Cup Pool B Schedule:

Monday 16 February Ireland v West Indies, Nelson, New Zealand

Wednesday 25 February Ireland v Qualifier, Brisbane, Australia

Tuesday 3 March Ireland v South Africa, Canberra, Australia


Saturday 7 March Ireland v Zimbabwe, Hobart, Australia

Monday 9 March Ireland v India, Hamilton, New Zealand

Sunday 15 March Ireland v Pakistan, Adelaide, Australia

Kevin O' Brien scored the fastest World Cup century off only 50 balls against England in the 2011 World Cup


Geoff Holmes
Article written by
19 year old student studying Business & Management in DIT. Football lover and Shamrock Rovers fanatic. Most of my articles are related to football particularly League of Ireland and also reports on golf and tennis. I have been writing for from the very beginning. Follow me on Twitter @geoffholmes94 for any sporting related news.

You may also like

Facebook messenger